Tropical Cyclone Dineo To hit Mozambique Coast

Tropical Cyclone Dineo To hit Mozambique Coast


At 6:15 a.m. EST (1115 UTC) on Feb. 15, NASA’s Aqua satellite showed the center of Tropical Cyclone Dineo just off the coast of Mozambique. Credits: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

By NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

When NASA’s Aqua satellite passed over Tropical Cyclone Dineo in the Mozambique Channel on Feb. 15, the storm was centered just off the coast of Mozambique and moving toward landfall.

At 6:15 a.m. EST (1115 UTC) on Feb. 15, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite showed the center of Tropical Cyclone Dineo just off the coast of Mozambique. Visible light satellite imagery showed a well-defined storm with thick bands of thunderstorms wrapping around the low-level center. The MODIS image also showed a cloud-filled eye.

On Feb. 14, when the Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core observatory satellite flew over Dineo at 0926 UTC (4:26 a.m. EST) and found very heavy precipitation in bands of thunderstorms on Dineo’s northeastern side. The most intense rainfall was measured by GPM’s Dual-Frequency Precipitation Radar (DPR) falling at a rate of over 132 mm (5.2 inches) per hour in the intense storms in the northeastern quadrant of the tropical cyclone.


On Feb. 14, when the Global Precipitation Measurement mission or GPM core observatory satellite flew over Dineo at 0926 UTC (4:26 a.m. EST) and found very heavy precipitation in bands of thunderstorms on Dineo’s northeastern side. Credits: NASA/JAXA, Hal Pierce

On Feb. 15 at 1500 UTC (10 a.m. EST) Tropical Cyclone Dineo’s maximum sustained winds were near 80.5 mph (70 knots/129.6 kph). Dineo appears to have reached its peak strength, according to the Joint Typhoon Warning Center. Dineo was located near 23.5 degrees south latitude and 35.8 degrees east longitude, about 235 nautical miles west-southwest of Europa Island, and just off the coast of Mozambique.

Dineo was moving to the west-southwest and the eye is expected to make landfall by 2100 UTC (4 p.m. EST).

After making landfall in southern Mozambique Dineo is forecast to move west and weaken quickly.

Original Article, NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (02-15-2017)

Coastal Care

Related Posts

Mauritius declares emergency as stranded ship leaks oil

Mauritius declares emergency as stranded ship leaks oil

Resort plan for SC barrier island advances with county now saying it’s ‘ecotourism’

Resort plan for SC barrier island advances with county now saying it’s ‘ecotourism’

Greenhouse gas emissions from international shipping increasing

Greenhouse gas emissions from international shipping increasing

Ice caps formed during Little Ice Age roughly 5,000 years ago completely disappear from Canada

Ice caps formed during Little Ice Age roughly 5,000 years ago completely disappear from Canada

SAF Video

Beach of the Month

Photo of the Month

Plastic Pollution

Sand Wars – United Nations-GEA

Sand Mining Detrimental Effects

The World’s Beaches

Coastal Care Junior

NASA – Fly along with NASA’s fleet of Earth science missions and observe Earth from a global perspective in an immersive, 3-D environment.